Regulators: Let Me Ride

I’d like to take a moment and shine a light on a classic 90’s rap song that has been stuck in my head for 20 years… Regulate.

Warren G and Nate Dogg were on to something with this one. It’s a timeless piece of music that captures a glimpse at a typical evening out for some young G’s. For those of you who were not around in the 90’s, here’s the original music video for this epic tune.

It’s a great song, but the more I listened to it, the more certain words and phrases jumped out at me. I’d like to dive deeper into the lyrics and attempt to translate each line into more simple, easy-to-understand language that any non-G can relate to…

Green = Warren G
Blue = Nate Dogg
Orange = Translation

It was a clear black night, a clear white moon. Warren G was on the streets, trying to consume some skirts for the eve, so I can get some funk, just rollin’ in my ride, chillin all alone. 

It was night time and I, Warren G, was driving around looking for a few women to have sex with. 

Just hit the east side of the L.B.C. on a mission trying to find Mr. Warren G. Seen a car full of girls; ain’t no need to tweak, all you skirts know what’s up with 213. 

Arrived on the East Side of Long Beach California, looking for Mr. Warren G. Saw a car with girls in it. There’s no cause for alarm. My area code, 213, means something to women. 

Clearly, women know all about the 213 area code. It’s like, “hey there skirts, give me a call, my number is 2-1-3…” and they’re like, “whoa, I know what that means…”

So I hooks a left on the 21 and Lewis. 

I turned left onto the 21 and Lewis. 

Some brothas shootin dice so I said “let’s do this.” I jumped out the ride, and said, “what’s up?” Some brothas pulled some gats so I said “I’m stuck.”

Some guys were playing a dice game, so I got out of my car and asked if I could join them. Then they pulled guns on me. I guess they take their dice games rather seriously. 

Since these girls peepin’ me, I’ma glide and swerve. These hookers lookin’ so hard they straight hit the curb. On to bigger, better things than some horny tricks. I see my homey and some suckers all in his mix. 

The girls were looking at me so I made an avoidance maneuver. Clearly they were selling their bodies for money, and not watching where they were driving. Their car hit the curb. They must be horny prostitutes. 

…but more importantly, my buddy is being harassed by suckers. 

I’m gettin jacked. I’m breakin myself. I can’t believe they’re taking Warren’s wealth. They took my rings, they took my rolex. I looked at the brothas and said “damn, what’s next?”

They’re robbing me and I’m not taking it well. I’m going to refer to Warren in the 3rd person again. They take my wealth, which I wear in the form of rings and a watch. I look at them and ask, “now what?”

They got my homey hemmed up and they all around. Ain’t none of them seeing if they going straight pound for pound. They wanna come up real quick before they start to clown. I best pull out my strap and lay them busters down. 

They’ve surrounded my friend. This is not a fair fight. I’d better hurry over there before they start joking. I should pull out my gun and shoot them. 

They got guns to my head. I think I’m going down. I can’t believe this happened in my own town. If I had wings I would fly. Let me contemplate. I glanced in the cut and I see my homey Nate. 

They have guns to my head. I think I’m going to die. I’m surprised this is happening in my own town. I’m delirious and I’d really like to escape this situation. Then I see my friend Nate. 

Sixteen in the clip and one in the hole. Nate Dogg is about to make some bodies turn cold. Now they droppin’ and yellin’. It’s a tad bit late. Nate Dogg and Warren G had to regulate. 

My gun is fully loaded and I, Nate Dogg, am about to kill these guys. They drop their firearms and scream, but it’s too late. I, Nate Dogg, and Warren G had to regulate. 

I laid all them busters down. I let my gat explode. Now I’m switching my mind back into freak mode. If you want skirts sit back and observe. I just left a gang of hoes over there on the curb. 

I shot all of those busters with my gat. Now I’m thinking about sex again. I can get you some girls. I just left some nearby after they crashed into a curb. 

Now Nate got the freaks, and that’s a known fact. Before I got jacked I was on the same track. Back up, back up ’cause it’s on. N-A-T-E and me, the Warren to the G. 

Everyone is aware that my friend Nate knows some kinky women. Before getting held up, I was trying to meet some as well. Heads up, Nate and I, Warren G, are on the prowl. 

Just like I thought, they were in the same spot, in need of some desperate help, but Nate Dogg and the G-child were in need of something else. 

As I thought they were still there, desperately needing roadside assistance, but I, Nate Dogg, and Warren G had other things in mind. 

One of them dames was sexy as hell, I said “ooh I like your size.” She said “my car’s broke down and you seem real nice, “would ya let me ride?”

One of those women was very attractive. I told her so. She said I seem nice and asked for a ride. 

I got a car full of girls and it’s going real swell. The next stop is the east side motel.

Now they’re all in my car and everything is copacetic. I’m taking them to a motel. They needed roadside assistance. I’m giving them some sex as well. 

I’m tweaking into a whole new era. G-Funk – step to this?! I dare ya. 

I’m losing control and it’s a good thing. I wouldn’t suggest messing with the G-Funk. 

Funk. On a whole new level. The rythmn is the bass and the bass is the treble. 

Funk, but slightly different. It’s mostly a rythmn centered around bass, which does things that the higher pitch instruments typically do. 

Chords. Strings. We brings. Melody. 

Now I’ll list every component of this instrumental backing track that was composed on a keyboard without any actual instruments.

G-Funk: Where rythmn is life, and life is rythmn. 

Our official Mission Statement reads: G-Funk: Where rythmn is life, and life is rythmn. We could have stopped after the “rythmn is life” part because the second part was redundant. 

If you know like I know, you don’t want to step to this. It’s the G-Funk era, funked out with a gangster twist. If you smoke like I smoke, then you high like every day. And if your ass is a buster, 213 will regulate. 

If you’re as smart as I am, you wouldn’t mess with this. G-Funk means gangster funk. Also, I smoke marijuana on a daily basis. And if you are a buster, my area code, 213, will kill you.

There you have it, a timeless story of love, guns, busters, car accidents, marijuana, and quid-pro-quo roadside assistance.

John hopes you’ve enjoyed the ride.
…and don’t mess with the area code 213. 

Standup Comic John Powers NYC Dear Jp Comedian Advice Sex Column Relationship Dating Love Advisor Counsel
– John Powers

@ComicJohnPowers

 

Add Your Comment

